This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Quick Start to Working in an RDF Mindset

Sep 3, 2015 at 6:39 PM
Edited Sep 3, 2015 at 6:41 PM
I've read the documentation of BrightstarDB's entity framework and I think I get the jist of how it works, my question has more to do with how to enforce advance relationships espically at run time.

For example I want to define a concept of Character which is a Species. Human is a Species. Humans can walk. Jack is a Human. Even more so I want to do this to be dynamic, so the concepts of Character and Species might be defined strongly typed, but Human for sure is dynamic.

How would I model that in Brightstar's Entity Framework?

Then walking is temporal and directional, Jack walks from A to B @ rate of 1mph. How would I model that?

I'm totally new to RDF so these might be really stupid questions, any help would be appreciated.
Coordinator
Sep 4, 2015 at 10:23 AM
Hi,

I think some advanced relationships that are possible with RDF are probably not possible in the confines of C# classes/interfaces.

I think that your model could be quite close to what you outline:

Define ICharacter and ISpecies as interfaces.
ICharacter has a Species property which returns an instance that implements the ISpecies interface.
Then on your ISpecies class you would define properties that specify common species characteristics such as a base movement rate.
Human might have additional properties and actually in B*, that is OK - you can split those other properties out into other interface and then use the casting mechanism to change the EF class you bind to at runtime (see http://brightstardb.readthedocs.org/en/latest/Entity_Framework/#casting-entities).